Wednesday, March 18, 2009

FIRST LADY TO BE HONORED BY FASHION GROUP: Michelle Obama to receive tribute at awards gala in June.

*The Council of Fashion Designers of America announced Monday that Michelle Obama will be honored with a special tribute from the group's board of directors at its annual awards gala in June.
"We wanted to acknowledge her in a serious way for her commitment to American fashion," CFDA president Steven Kolb told the Associated Press. A grant also will be established in her name to assist a young fashion company.
Meanwhile, three designers that the first lady has been known to wear — Narciso Rodriguez, Jason Wu and Thakoon Panichgul — also received CFDA nominations.
Rodriguez joins Marc Jacobs and sisters Laura and Kate Mulleavy of Rodarte as the nominees for womenswear designer of the year, and Wu, Panichgul and Alexander Wang are in the running for the Swarovski Award for emerging talent in women's fashion.
Anna Sui is to receive the lifetime achievement award named for the late Geoffrey Beene.
The ceremony is moving this year from the New York Public Library to Lincoln Center, which will also become the Fashion Week hub next year. Mrs. Obama will receive an invitation, but it is uncertain whether she will attend.


No comments:

Post a Comment